Democratic Republic of Congo ratifies the African Union Convention on Preventing & Combating Corruption


The Member State ratified and submitted its instruments of ratification on Wednesday 23rd February 2022 to the Office of the Legal Counsel of the African Union Commission.

On behalf of the African Union Advisory Board on Corruption, the Executive Secretary, Charity Nchimunya welcomed and affirmed the step taken by the DRC. 

“AUABC wishes to congratulate the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) on becoming the 46th State Party to the African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption (AUCPCC). The Board is elated on this development and looks forward to continued collaboration with the DRC in the promotion of anti-corruption efforts,” Ms Charity Nchimunya said.

She also reiterated a call to the remaining nine (9) African Union Member States that are yet to ratify the AUCPCC to do so.

Member States of the African Union adopted the African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption (The Convention) at the 2nd Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the Union, held in Maputo, Mozambique. This was on 11th July 2003. The Convention entered into force on 5th August 2006, 30 days after the deposit of the 15th instrument of ratification. To date, forty -six (46) countries have ratified the Convention and are States Parties to it, with the DRC being the newest Member to ratify.